Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys, newbie here. So I have a 2018 800R and am installing a Badlands 5000lb winch. I bought a OEM winch switch and plugged it into the green connector under the dash. I found the four wires tied up the support behind the radiator. Question is what is each wire ? One is black with a round bolt hole, one is black with a spade connector, one is light blue with a spade connector, and the last one is green with a blue stripe with a spade connector. I'm not sure how to connect it to the supplied relay. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

·
Registered
579 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
The wires connected to the contactor relay, where do they come from?
You need pos+ and neg- coming from battery to contactor on big terminals then to winch.
Not sure what the 4 wires are for you found behind radiator support. Possibly turn signal hook up.
What is your machine?

·
Registered
3,169 Posts
Hello and welcome, what we have is most likely the small plugs not matching for anyone who has replaced a contactor with aftermarket some terminal changes are likely to be made

https://www.kfiproducts.com/replacement-winch-contactor.html

there is a pic in this one that shows some of the wiring for you should help.

Is there still a plug in the upper left inside glove box for remote?

[ame]https://www.amazon.com/Winch-Solenoid-Contactor-Rocker-Switch/dp/B0774SBC3V/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?hvadid=78271537399636&hvbmt=bp&hvdev=c&hvqmt=p&keywords=winch+contactor&qid=1553604042&s=gateway&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1[/ame]

[ame]https://www.amazon.com/Solenoid-Contactor-Rocker-Switch-6000lbs-12000lbs/dp/B075RV5PMC/ref=sr_1_8?hvadid=78271537399636&hvbmt=bp&hvdev=c&hvqmt=p&keywords=winch+contactor&qid=1553604098&s=gateway&sr=8-8[/ame]

Here are some more examples of the differences in the relay setups

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6