Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I have a 2020 Commander LTD. RT Pro 2" lift. 2" spacers.

Thinking about throwing 30x10s on there. Many people say I'll need clutch work if I go that big. I've never worked on a clutch before. Do I REALLY need to do clutch work? I don't wheel this thing super hard. Packed rocky dirt terrain mostly. I'm not overly hard on it when driving. If I really NEED to look at the clutch, what is the cheapest (and still decent) way to go about it. I would like to do the work myself, as I get to learn how the machine works that way, plus save a bundle on install...but...I've never done clutch work before. Fairly handy with a wrench though. Do you recommend it as a DIY for someone with almost no experience with clutches? Any input would be appreciated. Keep in mind...I don't need the BEST performance or anything...I just don't want to be breaking crap every time I take her out.

Thanks!

·
Registered
265 Posts
I had the lock up mod done by UATV Tech. It's not too hard to change clutches out. I did mine by myself, but a second set of hands might be helpful. You could run without clutch work, but probably wear stuff out faster, like your belt. I'd at least upgrade the springs.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
There are good how to videos on commander clutches. You can do it yourself.
You think the lockup mod would be enough? I'm not looking to be able to rip this thing like a raped ape all the time. Just want to prevent unnecessary premature wear and breakage of parts. So, I'd need the property bolts to pull the primary and secondary, one bolt each, and otherwise, I shouldn't need any specialty tools? I have all the sockets, wrenches, ratchets, torgue, etc...

This mod requires: pull the primary, ship it off to UATV Tech, get it back, reinstall in reverse? That "easy"?

Thanks for the help.

·
Super Moderator
24,549 Posts