Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still learning on these Commanders.

When I put it in gear (H, L, or R) and barely push on the throttle (before the clutch even engages) it will die. I dont like to mash on it because of the "Commander Clunk". If I give it a bit more throttle at take off it is fine.

Is this something in the TPS?

Thanks

·
Registered
154 Posts
Mine also does this when I first start it up cold, once it warms up it's all good. I was going to ask my dealer about this as well

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah, i think its something to do with that TPS. ALso, in the mornings when it is cold (teens or twentys here in Wyoming) it will fire right up, run for a few seconds then die. It will start right up again and run fine. Not real sure what the deal is.

·
Registered
716 Posts
Charge your battery maybe. The fuel injection on these things need a good battery. Just an idea.

Stiff

·
Registered
461 Posts
Similar problem

I have been recently encountering the same problem,
However, my problem started first with the engine light coming on intermittently and no limp mode..., it started intermittently at higher RPM's but has progressively been coming on more often...
My battery is fully charged, all wires tight and dry!!
Pretty sure my problem is in the TPS as I have encountered an incredible amount of dust...dust..dust...(did I say dust?)...yes, lots of it....in my last couple of outings...
Just as I was finishing my last ride the Commander would cut out at anywhere near idle....
So, I am starting from the front...double checking the filters, and going from there...
Oil seems o.k, not too dirty...
My bet is the TPS or Throttle body are gungked up!?!

·
Registered
228 Posts