Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello guys I am a newbie to the forums. I wish I was coming here for other reasons but I have had a major breakdown on my commander. I have a 2013 1000 commander x. while out in it this weekend the rear driveshaft front universal decide to explode and knock a hole in my gearbox. so I have been weighing my options as to what I am going to do. I have found a used commander x transmission that has more miles on it than mine. ive also thought of replacing the box. just looking for some pointers as to I have read a lot on here on removing the gear box and it doesn't look easy. I appreciate your time and nice to talk to guys!

Attachments

·
Registered
7,569 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear from you in this case, however; there are lots of good people and knowledge here. Good luck. Booger.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,104 Posts
When I replaced my gearbox, the most affordable place I found for a factory box was canampartsguy.com. They have both the standard ratio boxes and the low ratio boxes (28% lower low gear And 14% lower high gear ratio) for $1950. Don't waste your time with an aftermarket box. It is a lot of work to replace it and you don't want to do it twice like I had to do, not to mention the waste of money.

This post has the basic info/procedure and some links: https://www.commanderforums.org/forums/commander-1000/59450-procedure-removing-gear-box-2011-commander.html#post835978

You have a great resource nearby you in Acefire.

·
Registered
3,938 Posts
wow I have never seen that before..... Doesnt mrrpm sell gearboxes or is that for quads only?

·
Super Moderator
23,013 Posts
The mrrpm boxes are junk !! Just ask Slowindown. And yes you have but yours pulled the output shat completely out of the box.

·
Registered
2,104 Posts
wow I have never seen that before..... Doesnt mrrpm sell gearboxes or is that for quads only?