Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did a search here but found very little info. I am looking at getting out of ATV's and into a SXS. Looking at the Maverick Sport 1000 and the Commander 1000. I do mostly light trail riding 75-100 miles a run in Northern Wisconsin and sometimes haul a chainsaw, shovel and other tools around for trail maintenance. I'm NOT an aggressive rider nor a mudder but likely will run into some mud on occasion. I usually cruise 30-40 mph and occasionally get up to 55-60. I really see no benefit with the Maverick other than a few more ponies but just want to make sure i'm making the right choice. It also seems like theirs more aftermarket items for the Commander and is cheaper as well. Any input?? Am i missing anything??

·
Registered
41 Posts
Don’t know much about the maverick other than it’s a full sport sxs where a commander is a utility/sport sxs. I’m new to the sxs world as well I recently bought a commander and what really sold me on it was the fact that it has more than enough power, the bed on it (just to occasionally do some work out of and put a spray tank on for spraying season), and of course the bucket seats. We do a lot of long rides and there’s no way I wanted to have a bench seat for those. Basically getting the best of both worlds is what I saw from it. As for the notorious cab heat I can’t tell you a lot on it i haven’t had it through hot weather yet but I went ahead and did a couple things to prevent it before it ever had to be encountered.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
125 Posts
I 2nd RacerX almost word for word. Should be pretty easy for you to decide based solely on utility use. If you don't need a bed for property or animal care (or whatever) I'd be looking at the Maverick.