Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got lucky or so I thought I bought a 2015 Commander 1000 XT Bank repo for $9,000 it has a 6 inch super ATV lift 36 inch tires LED stereo everything loaded only bad thing is the four-wheel drive does not work I'm familiar with the command drive in the Polaris and it's operation I was a blur tech for 10 years from what I've read here it locks in the gear case not in the front diff the actuator works what the front lifted the driver's wheel free spins in 4-wheel drive the passenger does not but I can turn it with Force rear wheels on the ground the drive shaft does not spin which tells me the gear case is doing what it should I know the front diff is limited slip but it seems to me it should actually lock on one side help please

·
Super Moderator
23,205 Posts
It’s really hard to get enough force spinning the front in by hand . It has to be consistent spin. Visco could be weak depending on the amount abuse it took by previous owner . Best way to see if it’s actually working find a mud hole and hammer down .

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've only had it for 2 days I tried backing up a hill in 4-wheel drive three wheel spin front lever locks but I have noticed going across my pasture if I hammer it in 4-wheel drive it seems to try to pull to the right with rear wheel spinning it does not do this in two wheel drive so I'm guessing there's not a positive lock to the ring gear from the passenger axle the VSCO would have to lock for the passenger axle to lock in am I correct

·
Super Moderator
23,205 Posts