Can-Am Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. So, on my second day of really running this wonderful machine at Carolina Adventure World, it decided to lock up on me. Heading down a hill she made all kinds of noise and BANG. Locked up dead in its tracks. Shifter didn't really want to move, although as I did try to shift it like to park, etc. the dashboard said it was moving, but certainly did not feel like it. Winched the machine to the bottom of the muddy pit and went to work. Jacked up rear, took apart read end and got axles loose from the transaxle. Tied them up and got a pull back to the trailer, now that she could roll again.
I'm NOT a mechanic by any means, but I can tear shit apart with the best of them. I already spent $7500 for the machine, which was 10 years of saving towards to afford. My wife will not let me spend $2100 or more to buy a new gearbox. She AINT happy about this at all, but that's another story. I am going to tear into it this weekend and try to figure out exactly what is broken. Can anyone give me pointers as to what to test and look for to determine exactly what component is jacked?

·
Registered
617 Posts
Sounds like you’re heading in the right direction. Will it shift at all with the engine off and parked? Can’t think of anything that would make it act like that other than that the gearbox. Good luck.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Same problem mine had.
I traded my Polaris Ace 900 SP for a 12' Commander 1000 XT. It locked up during my maiden voyage and I had to winch/drag it onto a trailer while trailside.